Commonwealth Shared Scholarship, 2018. Applications open

The Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) is one of the largest and most prestigious
international scholarship schemes in the world.The CSC awards over 800 scholarships and fellowships for postgraduate study and professional development to Commonwealth citizens each year.


High-quality postgraduate students who have the potential to enhance the development
of their home countries with the knowledge and leadership skills they acquire.


Each scholarship provides:
 Approved airfare from your home country to the UK and return at the end of your award (the CSC will not
reimburse the cost of fares for dependants, nor usually the cost of journeys made before your award is finally
 Approved tuition fees
 Stipend (living allowance) at the rate of £1,065 per month, or £1,306 per month for those at universities in the
London metropolitan area (rates quoted at 2017-2018 levels)
 Warm clothing allowance, where applicable
 Thesis grant towards the cost of preparing a thesis or dissertation, where applicable
 Study travel grant towards the cost of study-related travel within the UK or overseas
 If you are widowed, divorced, or a single parent, child allowance of £458 per month for the first child, and £112
per month for the second and third child under the age of 16, if you are accompanied by your children and they
are living with you at the same address in the UK
The CSC’s family allowances are intended to be only a contribution towards the cost of maintaining your family in
the UK. The true costs are likely to be considerably higher, and you must be able to supplement these allowances
in order to support any family members who come to the UK with you


To apply for these scholarships, you must:
 Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British
Protected Person
 Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country
 Be available to start your academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September/
October 2018
 By October 2018, hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) honours standard, or a second class
degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree)
 Be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship
The CSC aims to identify talented individuals who have the potential to make change. We are committed to a policy
of equal opportunity and non-discrimination, and encourage applications from a diverse range of candidates. For
further information on the support available to candidates with a disability, see the CSC disability support statement


You should apply to study at a UK university which has a part funding agreement with the CSC. Part funding
agreements are at the discretion of individual universities. For a list of universities that have agreed to part fund
Commonwealth Scholarships, visit
You must apply to one of the following nominating bodies in the first instance – the CSC does not accept direct
applications for these scholarships:
 National nominating agencies – this is the main route of application. For a full list including contact details, visit

National nominating agencies

 Selected non-governmental organisations and charitable bodies. For a full list, visit
All applications must be made through one of these nominating bodies. Each nominating body is responsible for its own selection process. You must check with your nominating body for their specific advice and rules for applying, and for their own closing date for applications. The CSC does not impose any age limit on applicants, but nominating bodies may do so in line with their own priorities.

You must make your application using the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS), in addition to any other
application that you are required to complete by your nominating body. Information on how to use the EAS,
including detailed guides, is available at
Your application must be submitted to and endorsed by one of the approved nominating bodies listed above. The CSC will not accept any applications that are not submitted via the EAS.

All applications, including full transcripts detailing all your higher education qualifications, must be submitted by 23.59 (GMT) on 22 February 2018 at the latest.
You are advised to complete and submit your application as soon as possible, as the EAS will be very busy in the days leading up to the application deadline. You must provide references from at least two individuals, which must be received by the CSC by 23.59 (GMT) on 22 March 2018 in order for your application to be eligible for consideration. Awards made by the CSC are subject to the ongoing endorsement of the nominating body. The CSC cannot accept nominations for these scholarships from other organizations or applications directly from individuals; such applications will not be acknowledged.


Antigua and Barbuda
Papua New Guinea
Pitcairn Islands
St Helena
St Lucia
St Vincent and the Grenadines
Sierra Leone
Solomon Islands
South Africa
Sri Lanka

Interested? READ MORE

Afia Bobia Amanfo is the co-founder of Studentshubgh. She is a committed Christian and also passionate about education and alleviating poverty. She is currently studying for an MSc in International trade in Paris. Her desire is to help create opportunities for young people in rural areas. She loves to write on Christian growth, academics, and career

Leave a Reply